The Early String Quartets:

The Early String Quartets:

April 23 - 24, 2021

TIME : 19:30

600 Baht;
200 Baht for Students


The Early String Quartets:
Friday, April 23, 2021
Saturday, April 24, 2021
@Neilson Hays Library, 195 Thanon Surawong, Bangkok

Ticket Prices: 600 Baht; 500 Baht for Library Members; 200 Baht for Students

Join us at the Neilson Hays Library on the 23rd and 24th of April 2021 to hear performances of Haydn’s and Mozart’s early string quartets by Pro Musica Quartet. Since Thailand does not have a regular, full-time string quartet, this is an extremely rare opportunity to hear the repertoire.

Throughout his lifetime, Haydn composed 68 string quartets, which established the quartet as the most important form in chamber music. His quartets are all ingenious, charming, and, at times, dramatic. Out of all of Haydn’s works, the string quartets are considered “the most faithful mirror of his human and artistic personality” because, while he started writing them at a young age, he only finished them later in his career. Considered the “Father of the String Quartet” for bringing the quartet into prominence, Haydn influenced some of the most well-known composers in history, including Mozart, who dedicated six quartets to Haydn, known as The Haydn Quartets.

In the first concert on April 23rd and April 24th from the Early String Quartet series, concert goers will have the opportunity to hear Haydn’s Op. 20, which Haydn wrote in 1772 at the age of 40, and Op. 33, written nine years later. While Op. 33 is known for its maturity, Op. 20 is credited with establishing the form of the modern string quartet, as, starting with this opus, all voices can be equally heard.

The early string quartets of Mozart are the work of a childhood genius inspired by Haydn’s quartets, which will astound you with their sophistication and maturity. As a teenager, Mozart produced two sets of six quartets, The Milanese Quartets and the Viennese Quartets, all of which are brilliant.

At the Neilson Hays Library, Pro Musica Quartet will perform one of the Viennese Quartets, which Mozart wrote in 1773, at the age of seventeen.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: String Quartet No. 8 in F major, K. 168
Joseph Haydn: String Quartet Op. 20 No. 4 in D major
Joseph Haydn: String Quartet Op. 33 No. 1 in B minor

Pro Musica Quartet
Leo Phillips, Violin
Jirajet Jetsadachet, Violin
Tasana Nagavajara, Viola
Panyaphat Wongwechwiwat, Violoncello

Pro Musica Quartet:

Leo Phillips studied the violin both in Europe with David Takeno and Sandor Vegh, and in the USA with Dorothy DeLay and Shmuel Ashkenasi. He has appeared as violin soloist with many orchestras including the London Philharmonic, Manchester Camerata, L’Orchestre de Chambre de Genève, and the National Symphony Orchestra of South Africa. A dedicated chamber musician, Leo was a founder member of the VellingerString Quartet and leader of the internationally regarded Nash Ensemble of London with whom he toured extensively and has made many critically acclaimed recordings and broadcasts.

Jirajet Jesadachet studied the violin with Dr. TasanaNagavajara and won several first prizes from Beethoven National Competition for Young String Players, Thailand Mozart International String Competition, Princess GalyaniVadhana International String Ensemble Competition, and a Gold Medal prize from the Settrade Young Musician Competition. At the age of 15, he was chosen to be the concertmaster of the United University Orchestra of Thailand. Jirajet was later offered a full scholarship from the prestigious Yong Siew TohConservatory of Music in Singapore, graduating with a Bachelor of Music in Violin Performance with Distinction. As a recipient of the Alec Templeton Scholarship, Jirajet recently completed a Master of Arts in Violin Performance with Distinction from the Royal Academy of Music in London under the guidance of the legendary violinist Mayumi Fujikawa. Jirajet has performed solo recitals in many countries, including Malaysia, Singapore, United Kingdom, the Netherlands, Germany, and Switzerland.

Tasana Nagavajara was a founding member of the Faculty of Music at Silpakorn University and served as Director of the Silpakorn Summer Music School (SSMS) and the Pro MusicaJunior Programme. He has performed with Thailand’s leading orchestras and served as Concertmaster of the Bangkok Symphony Orchestra under Hikotaro Yazaki for 10 consecutive seasons. From 2011 to 2016, he was a faculty member and chamber performer in the Estate Musicale Frentana in Lanciano, Italy. Tasana is currently the Artistic Director of the Pro MusicaOrchestra that went on tour to four European countries in 2012, a result of his efforts in introducing repertoire unfamiliar to the Thai audience, giving regular violin and viola recitals, and leading various chamber ensembles.

Panyaphat Wongwechwiwat graduated with a Bachelor of Music from The Juilliard School in New York. At Julliard, he studied with Fred Sherry and was a member of the New Juilliard Ensemble, as well as a recipient of the Juilliard Gluck Fellowship, a music outreach program that gives interactive performances at healthcare facilities within the New York City area. Panyaphat has performed and worked with conductors likeJames Levine, Alan Gilbert, Leonard Slatkin, and Bernard Haitink, and played in masterclasses for Frans Helmerson, Alexander Baillie, and Robert Cohen. As one of the scholarship recipients of HRH Princess Galyani Vadhana, Panyaphat was a finalist in both the 6th Osaka International Music Competition and the 1st Young Musician of Thailand Competition.

Due to precautionary measures of coronavirus, the number of seats will be limited at the venue to respect social distancing rules and tickets will not be available for purchase at the door.

You can purchase tickets online, at the library, reserve seats by calling 02-233-1731, or emailing

Please note that reserved seats should be paid for within 3 days after the booking, after that they will be released. There is no parking space available at the library, therefore please take a taxi or use public transportation.

Stay updated with Pro Musica

you email